Higher Technical Qualifications

Blank Placeholder

Higher Technical Qualifications – What are they?

Types of HTQs

HTQs are existing and new level 4 and 5 qualifications.

There are many different types of HTQs, such as:

You can take a HTQ in construction or health and science from 2023. Even more subjects will be available in the future.


Where can I study HTQs?

Most existing and new HTQs are available at universities and at further education colleges. In our local area, the widest range of HTQ courses delivered at a college is available at Mid Kent College’s University Centre in Maidstone (as of December 2022). But look out for independent providers as well – for example, level 4 HTQs in catering will be available at Reynolds’ Chef Academy in Borough Green from September 2023.

You can filter your searches on UCAS.com to look for foundation degrees and/or HNC/HND courses, as well as the new type of HTQs. You can also filter for different areas, so if you still wish to live at home or stay in the local area, then you can. There is a huge range of choice – make sure you look at our ‘going to university‘ pages if you’re thinking about taking this route.